CHLNet Secretariat

The Canadian Health Leadership Network Secretariat ensures that the strategic directions set by the Network Partners are being observed in between semi-annual meetings of the partners. The Secretariat is comprised of two co-chairs (one each from a national and a provincial/regional partner), up to three liaison members appointed by the Network Partners’ Roundtable, chairs of CHLNet’s working groups, CHLNet senior policy advisor, representative from Emerging Health Leaders, two founding co-chairs, founding executive director and the CEO of the host organization (currently the Canadian College of Health Leaders). The Executive Director of CHLNet sits ex-officio on the secretariat. To view our organizational chart, click here.

CHLNet Secretariat
Kathy MacNeil and Dr. Susan Moffat-Bruce (CHLNet Co-Chairs)
Emily Gruenwoldt, Col. Scott Malcolm, and Maria Judd (CHLNet Network Partner Liaisons)
Wendy Nicklin (CHLNet Working Group Chair)
Graham Dickson (CHLNet Senior Research Advisor)
Bill Tholl (CHLNet Senior Policy Advisor)
Doran Walker (Emerging Health Leaders)
Alain Doucet, Canadian College of Health Leaders (Host Secretariat)
Kelly Grimes, CHLNet Executive Director (ex officio)

Kathy MacNeil

CHLNet Co-Chair

    Kathy MacNeil is President and Chief Executive Officer of Island Health. She is driven by her passion to improve the health and care of patients, staff, medical staff and communities. She was named Island Health’s President and CEO in February of 2018 after serving as Executive Vice President, Quality Safety and Experience since 2015. Kathy engages patients and families as partners in health and care alongside volunteers, employees and physicians to achieve superior clinical quality and service excellence, and fosters a patient and family centred culture that promotes learning and collaboration.

    As an experienced health-care executive with 30 years of progressive leadership experience, Kathy came to Island Health from the former Capital Health Region in Nova Scotia where she served as the Vice-President of People. She holds a Masters of Arts in Leadership (Health Specialization) from Royal Roads University, and a Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy from Dalhousie University. She is a Certified Health Executive with the Canadian College of Health Leaders (CCHL) and an active member of the Vancouver Island Chapter of CCHL.

    Kathy serves of the Board of the Health Employers Association of British Columbia and the United Way of Greater Victoria.

    Dr. Susan Moffatt-Bruce

    CHLNet Co-Chair

      Dr. Moffatt-Bruce is the CEO of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. She joins the college from The Ohio State University (OSU) Wexner Medical Center University Hospital — a flagship patient care facility with 700 beds and 70,000 annual admissions, providing quaternary clinical care — where she has served as executive director for the past two years. Prior to that, she was the OSU Wexner Medical Center’s first chief quality and patient safety officer. In that role, she led data analysis, transparent reporting of outcomes and process improvement for a seven-hospital academic medical centre. She and her team were celebrated for their success in reducing patient safety events and hospital re-admissions.

      A funded research scientist, Dr. Moffatt-Bruce is also a practising thoracic surgeon who is listed among the top doctors in Columbus and Central Ohio. She is a professor of surgery and of biomedical informatics at OSU, and has developed curriculum for residents and faculty around quality and professionalism. She holds leadership positions in numerous national and international associations and is a member of the Royal College’s Fellowship Affairs Committee.

      Dr. Moffatt-Bruce completed medical school and residency in General Surgery at Dalhousie University. She undertook a PhD in Transplant Immunology at the University of Cambridge, England, and completed her Cardiothoracic Surgery fellowship at Stanford University, California. She also trained at Intermountain Healthcare, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Moffatt-Bruce has a Six Sigma Black Belt certification. She earned her Masters of Business Operational Excellence and her Executive Masters of Business Administration at the Fisher College of Business at the Ohio State University.


      Past Co-Chairs

      Since its inception in 2010, CHLNet has been fortunate to have had a plethora of great leaders from across the country to guide our ongoing role and relevance in the health system.  Each chair must:

      • Represent a Network Partner
      • Be active in the health care community
      • Between the two Co-chairs, represent a balance between national vs. regional health organizations, as well as government vs. non-government organizations
      • Time and willingness to assume duties and responsibilities.


      This illustrious list of co-chairs include:

      2010 – Don Philippon (Alberta Government), Elma Heidemann (Accreditation Canada)

      2011 – Brian O’Rourke (CADTH), Lea Bryden (Capital Health Nova Scotia)

      2012 – Brian O’Rourke (CADTH), Hugh MacLeod (Canadian Patient Safety Institute)

      2013 – Brian O’Rourke (CADTH), Hugh MacLeod (Canadian Patient Safety Institute)

      2014 – Brian O’Rourke (CADTH), Hugh MacLeod (Canadian Patient Safety Institute)

      2015 – Brian O’Rourke (CADTH), Gillian Kernaghan (St. Joseph’s Health Care London)

      2016 – Gillian Kernaghan (St. Joseph’s Health Care London), Graham Sher (Canadian Blood Services)

      2017 – Gillian Kernaghan (St. Joseph’s Health Care London), Graham Sher (Canadian Blood Services)

      2018 – Gillian Kernaghan (St. Joseph’s Health Care London), Chris Power (Canadian Patient Safety Institute)

      2019 – Chris Power (Canadian Patient Safety Institute), Kathy MacNeil (Island Health)

      2020 – Chris Power (Canadian Patient Safety Institute), Kathy MacNeil (Island Health)

      2021 – Kathy MacNeil (Island Health), Susan Moffatt-Bruce (Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada)

      2022 – Kathy MacNeil (Island Health), Susan Moffatt-Bruce (Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada)