MacNaught–Taillon Leadership Award in Health Policy, Health Information & Health Informatics

The MacNaught-Taillon (M&T) Award, awarded every three years, was established in 2008 to honour the outstanding and lasting contributions of Don MacNaught and Serge Taillon to the Canadian health care system. The award is accompanied by a bursary to support further training, research or education in health informatics and/or health policy that will be presented to an up-and-coming leader who will be designated at the discretion of the M&T Award recipient.

Beginning in the mid-1980s in the Health Information Division of Health Canada, Don and Serge worked side by side to contribute their leadership in a spirit of cooperation to initiatives such as the National Health Information Council and the National Health Information Task Force. Their vision, stamina and perseverance contributed significantly to the realization of the Canadian Institute for Health Information in 1994.

2020 M&T Award Winner

M&T 2020 WinnerThe 2020 award winner is Jennifer Zelmer PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement (CFHI). Dr. Jennifer Zelmer clearly demonstrates a life-long commitment to collaboration and dedication in service of others that personify the values reflected in the M&T Leadership Award. In the spirit of the Honourable Justice Emmitt Hall, she is fully committed to the ideals of advancing our universal Medicare programs and to using better information systems in scaling and spreading leading practices. Dr. Zelmer continues to make an enduring contribution to the advancement of Canadian health information systems and evidence-informed decision making.

Selected by the M&T award winner. Dr. Zelmer has asked that this year’s award be given to a patient partner leader to be adjudicated by other patient leaders. The highly deserving recipients are Kim Daley and Payal Khazanchi. Kim is passionate about bringing the patient voice to healthcare and research including as a member of the University of Manitoba Chronic Disease Advisory Committee and later joining the National Chronic Disease Network, IMAGINE-SPOR as a patient research partner. Payal is a proud voice for newcomer families in Canada who have children with special needs and has done extensive work with the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation hospital. Congratulations to both who will use the bursary to build their capacity as a leader and patient partner.

The full press release can be found here.

2017 M&T Award Winner

2017-M-T-AwardThe 2017 award winner is Dr. Brian Postl, Dean of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Postl is a recipient of the Order of Manitoba (2012) and a recognized builder in advancing health research capacity locally through the establishment of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy. Nationally, Dr. Postl is a recognized leader, including serving as a Special Advisor to the Prime Minister on Wait Times, advocating for and serving as a mentor for others under the EXTRA Program, and embracing and promoting the LEADS leadership framework though CHLNet and the Canadian College of Health Leaders. He also oversaw the introduction of electronic medical records during his tenure as CEO of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.  He is the former chair of the Canadian Institute for Health Information and a past Chair of the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement.  He is also a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

The Award is accompanied by a $1,000 bursary intended to support further training, research, or education of an emerging leader in evidence-informed health policy. Dr. Postl has designated the bursary to Deepa Singal, who is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Community Health Sciences. She has been trained at the Manitoba Centre for Healthy Policy (MCHP) to investigate population health and social issues pertaining to child and maternal health, using large administrative datasets. Deepa has received a number of national and provincial awards and grants for her work. Working alongside senior researchers at the MCHP, Deepa is establishing an advanced pharmaco-epidemiology program of research investigating the effects of various medications prescribed during pregnancy on offspring utilizing linkable data housed at MCHP.

2014 M&T Award Winner

Les-RoosThe 2014 award winner is Leslie Roos, who is a Distinguished Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Manitoba and a founding director of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy. He is among the most highly cited Canadian scientists. Mr. Roos is particularly interested in the diverse uses of information-rich research environments. He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Royal Society of Canada. He has been an associate of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research and a fellow of the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy. The Award is accompanied by a $1,000 bursary intended to support further training, research, or education of an emerging leader in evidence-informed health policy. Dr. Roos has designated the bursary to Elizabeth Wall-Wieler, a graduate student in Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba.

2011 M&T Award Winner

The MacNaught-Taillon Award

The 2011 award winner is Richard Alvarez (right), who was the President and CEO of Canada Health Infoway, where he demonstrated outstanding leadership in the area of expanding the use of electronic health records across Canada. The MacNaught-Taillon Award was presented to Mr. Alvarez at the 2011 Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR) Annual Meeting in Halifax on behalf of the Justice Emmett Hall Memorial Foundation and CHLNet. His dedicated high potential, high performance mentee is Simon Hagens, Director Benefits Realization and Quality Improvement, Canada Health Infoway who received a $1,000 award to help him along his leadership journey.

2008 M&T Award Winner

Denis Protti, the inaugural recipient of the M&T Award, is recognized for his establishment of Canada’s first School of Health Information Science at the University of Victoria in the early 1980’s. This program has produced hundreds of health informatics professionals, many who work within Canada’s health system. Mr. Protti was Director of the School from 1981 to 1993 and has continued his affiliation with the school as a Professor and researcher. More recently, he has worked to establish graduate level programs for both early and mid-career professionals.

Founder of Partnerships for Productivity, which for 20 years has brought together health sector leaders from around the world.
Inaugural chair of CIHI’s Partnership for Health Informatics/Telematics which brought together health industry stakeholders to set the course for health data and information systems in Canada.
Founding member of the Canadian Organization for the Advancement of Computers in Healthcare (COACH).

The inaugural M&T Award was presented to Denis Protti at the 1st Annual Canadian Health Leadership Network Symposium (September 10-12, 2008, Montebello, Quebec). The bursary was awarded to Michael Bowen.