MacNaught-Taillon Leadership Award

The Canadian health community has recognized the need to honour those that have made an enduring contribution to the advancement of the Canadian health information systems and informatics in support of better health and healthcare systems for all Canadians. The MacNaught-Taillon Leadership Award honours two individuals who personified exemplary leadership and mentorship, and who promoted the development and use of high quality, integrated health information at all levels of decision-making in the Canadian health care system.

Since 2008, their legacy has been honoured through a partnership with the Justice Emmett Hall Memorial Foundation, the Canadian Health Leadership Network and the Canadian Association of Health Services and Policy Research. Previous winners have included Dennis Protti (2008), Richard Alvarez (2011), Les Roos (2014) and Brian Postl (2017). Nominations for the 2020 MacNaught-Taillon Leadership Award are now being accepted through February 15, 2020.

The Award includes a $1,000 scholarship in the name of the awardee to an outstanding, aspiring leader in health information systems or informatics and covers the cost of travel and accommodation to the award presentation in Saskatoon in conjunction with the 2020 CAHSPR Annual Conference (May 26-29).

Should you wish to nominate someone worthy of this cause, please contact Melanie Abdelnour ( for the nomination form and further details regarding submission.

Leave a Comment (0) ↓