Home / About Us

Leadership Award

The MacNaught-Taillon (M&T) Award (in Health Policy, Health Information & Health Informatics), awarded every three years, was established in 2008 to honour the outstanding and lasting contributions of Don MacNaught and Serge Taillon to the Canadian health care system. The award is accompanied by a bursary to support further training, research or education in health informatics and/or health policy that will be presented to an up-and-coming leader who will be designated at the discretion of the M&T Award recipient. The M&T Award involves a partnership of three organizations: Canadian Health Leadership Network, Healthcare Excellence Canada, and the e-Health Conference host organizations. 

2023 M&T Award Winner

May 3, 2023 (Ottawa): The Canadian Heath Leadership Network (CHLNet), Healthcare Excellence Canada and eHealth 2023 (hosted by Canada Health Infoway, Canadian Institute for Health Information and Digital Health Canada) are pleased to announce the 2023 recipient of the MacNaught-Taillon  Leadership Award (M&T award): Vivek Goel, MD, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waterloo. The award is accompanied by a $1,500 bursary to an emerging health leader as selected by the M&T award winner. This year, the recipient is Ashley Cid, a PhD Student in the School of Pharmacy at the University of Waterloo. The formal presentation will be made May 28-30th at eHealth 2023 in Toronto, Ontario.

2020 M&T Award Winner

The 2020 award winner was Jennifer Zelmer PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement (CFHI now Healthcare Excellence Canada). Dr. Jennifer Zelmer clearly demonstrates a life-long commitment to collaboration and dedication in service of others that personify the values reflected in the M&T Leadership Award. In the spirit of the Honourable Justice Emmitt Hall, she is fully committed to the ideals of advancing our universal Medicare programs and to using better information systems in scaling and spreading leading practices. Dr. Zelmer continues to make an enduring contribution to the advancement of Canadian health information systems and evidence-informed decision making. Dr. Zelmer has asked that this year’s award be given to a patient partner leader to be adjudicated by other patient leaders. The highly deserving recipients are Kim Daley and Payal Khazanchi.

2017 M&T Award Winner

The 2017 award winner was Dr. Brian Postl, Dean of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Postl is a recipient of the Order of Manitoba (2012) and a recognized builder in advancing health research capacity locally through the establishment of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy. Nationally, Dr. Postl is a recognized leader, including serving as a Special Advisor to the Prime Minister on Wait Times, advocating for and serving as a mentor for others under the EXTRA Program. He also oversaw the introduction of electronic medical records during his tenure as CEO of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority. He is the former chair of the CIHI and a past Chair of the CFHI. He is also a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. Dr. Postl designated the bursary to Deepa Singal, a PhD Candidate in the Department of Community Health Sciences.

2014 M&T Award Winner

The 2014 award winner was Leslie Roos, who is a Distinguished Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Manitoba and a founding director of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy. He is among the most highly cited Canadian scientists. Mr. Roos is particularly interested in the diverse uses of information-rich research environments. He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Royal Society of Canada. He has been an associate of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research and a fellow of the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy. Dr. Roos designated the bursary to Elizabeth Wall-Wieler, a graduate student in Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba.

2011 M&T Award Winner

The 2011 award winner is Richard Alvarez. As former CEO of Canada Health Infoway, he was a catalyst for accelerating the development of electronic health records in Canada. As former CEO of CIHI, he helped CIHI evolve into a well-known and respected organization with strong ties to the research community. He established strong, collaborative relationships with the federal, provincial and territorial governments and other stakeholders as the foundation for solid progress. Mr. Alvarez articulated a broad national vision for reforming Canada’s health care system through innovation and technology. On the international front, he has helped to position Canada as a world leader in health care renewal. His dedicated high potential, high performance mentee is Simon Hagen, who was the Director Benefits Realization and Quality Improvement. 

2008 M&T Award Winner

Denis Protti, the inaugural recipient of the M&T Award, was recognized for his establishment of Canada’s first School of Health Information Science at the University of Victoria in the early 1980’s. This program has produced hundreds of health informatics professionals, many who work within Canada’s health system. Mr. Protti was Director of the School from 1981 to 1993 and has continued his affiliation with the school as a professor and researcher. More recently, he has worked to establish graduate level programs for both early and mid-career professionals. Founder of Partnerships for Productivity, which for 20 years has brought together health sector leaders from around the world. Founding member of the Canadian Organization for the Advancement of Computers in Healthcare (COACH). The bursary was awarded to Michael Bowen.